A visit to a Fijian Market

On the second day I was there,  I followed Angela around and after dropping of Meretalai as school, we went to the market which was nearby.  So this is my first trip to a Fijian Market.  It was not very big, and the fact that it was the main market it was quite small by our standards.  One thing though, it was neat and clean. For one I am not the market kind of person. I’d shop at a supermarket any day.  After shocking episodes when I was a kid following mum to the market and wanting to throw up and all, it has always been something I do not look forward to.

My sister was even worst, she just dropped like a big fat rock overcome by the smell of the market and mum had a fright of her life so we were never allowed to go to the market again.  I believe this is not our fault at all but just the way the market system works here.

So here goes.  The first photo shows how vegetables are arranged in this market. Most cases these are the people who produce these fruits and vegetables themselves and so you see a mix of vegetables and fruits sold by the same person.  So in most cases again, these are very organically grown produce.  Notice too how the fruits and tomatoes and even the ginger is placed on little plates.  I thought this was a rather novel idea instead of having to rummage through all these produce and get our hands all messed up with fertilizers and stuff.

Some even have table cloth.

Most of the stall are run predominantly by Indians.  Notice how big the pak choy is? Even in the background just see how large the pumpkins are.  Most of these vegetables seem to be larger then what we get here in Malaysia.  And you can even get your newspapers if you want.  And yes they sell Sasa brooms (Lidi Brooms) too.

These next photos show how large the pumpkins are, and even the cabbages.  These large Pumpkins looks like the ones you find in the US. I did not get a chance to taste it.  But it would be difficult to finish even with a large family.

Funny I only noticed old ginger compared to the choices we have here.  Old ginger tends to be stronger in taste, and sharper and hotter.  I walked all around and found no young ginger.  I wonder if they know the uses of young ginger as sometimes what we take for granted, people from other countries have no idea a certain fruit or vegetable is edible.

Now this is Dalo or Taro or Tapioca, a very important food here in Fiji. Funnily enough, Angela did not give us any to eat. How strange? Because I am sure Aunty Ana would have given us some to eat.  Dalo is eaten even in Chinese restaurants as a starter.  Fijian Dalo tends to be of a different texture then the ones we get here.  It can be eaten with butter while hot.  It’s lovely!

More photos of varieties of Dalo and the one with the little girl was taken 2 seconds before she broke out in the loudest cry for all to hear.  I guess a model and a beauty queen she will never be this one, because of her fear of the camera flash.  She did spoil my photo taking moments.  I wanted to take the Dalo stem and stick it on her head then she would look like a big crying Dalo.

The last photo is Tahitian Chestnuts, which are boiled in salt water.  It has its own distinct  flavor, which Dan did not like very much. I ate the lot. It does resemble boiled ginger and if Angela did not pick it up ( the last packet too), I would have never known.

If you notice, I did not take and photos of the fish section. Well in Fiji the fish section in a separate section.  It’s a closed up area as they wanted to keep out the flies.

One step in on my second visit there, I nearly threw up and ran out for dear life.  I had one of my dreadful childhood moments.  The place reeked! Dan and Angela had no problem what so ever, I just was in there for 30 seconds and because totally nauseous. I did not understand their concept of closing off the area.  I could not even hold up my camera because I was overcome by the smell. I did not have time to look at the fish as I got teary eyed.

Maybe in my next visit to Fiji, I shall do it!

3 responses to “A visit to a Fijian Market

  1. Haha.. love the concept of the close seafood area. A great way to test your perfume!! :P

  2. Bula,
    Yes actually you’re right, I got mixed up with the Malay terms, Taro is Yam in my country. How silly of me. Will edit it. You from Nadi???
    Vinaka Vakalevu
    Nicholas

Leave a Reply

