Cupcakes Galore

Cupcake making started all by accident. I never thought I had it in me to make cupcakes till one day I was forced to but a friend. And then it took off.

I made a batch of 100 cupcakes for this little girl on Saturday, and although it was a big rush, the oohhs and ahhhs I got and a couple of wows made it all worth it.

Happy Cupcakes

I like making cupcakes that make people smile and think happy thoughts. The kind of cupcakes that brings out the child in us and it has happened a few times when older people come for a party and they see the cupcakes arranged on the table, you see that little child in their eyes and the excitement of going back to their childhood.

Cupcake making is not something you can rush, while yes you may rush but at the back of your head you need to plan what you want to do and should already have a rough idea.  I do have moments when I have Cupcake Making Block, and then you will see a totally different side of my piping capabilities. When I am not rushed and am in a happy mood, it is also different.

Call me the Moody Cupcake Decorator.

Decorating cupcakes too does not require much skill, it requires you to bring out the inner child in you.  The inner child we all wish to forget because we are so grown up. Sometimes it is this inner child that we choose to hide is what hinders our creative juices.  I tell that to all my students when they come to class.  I never teach them particular patterns, I teach them to let out what’s inside. And in the end it works out fine and you see a whole room full of grownups having a good happy time making cupcakes.

4 responses to “Cupcakes Galore

  1. English Karen

    I absolutely LOVE your cupcakes! The bright colours are so fun and inspiring and adding mini people is such an original idea. In England, we mostly just add hundreds and thousands (the silver tiny balls)… Also, I’ve never seen orange icing before.

    It’s almost artwork… you could even produce party wrapping paper using the photos. Or just make some fun prints for the walls. More cupcakes designs please!

  2. Nicholas, these are so beautiful! I don’t think I’ll have the creativity to do this. 😀

    • Dear Wai Peng,

      I let the child in me come out. You should let it come out too, forget you’re a mother and think of the times when designs like this were in your mind. It will flow out naturally.
      Nicholas

  3. Hi Nick, going to your cupcake class was the best decision I’d ever made. I’ve been making cupcakes ever since, on a regular basis. Compliments is all I get everytime I use your recipe for a light vanilla butter cuppies. But I always indulge myself, even with butter cuppies I tend to use cream cheese frostings! ;D

Leave a Reply

