Soup Day 15 – Lumpy Spicy Pumpkin Soup

After yesterdays Spicy Vegetable Soup, to day I feel like something a little bit similar so  I’ll go with pumpkin, Just a piece of pumpkin not a big one.  Pumpkin is a versatile vegetable both in the east and in the west.

Mashed pumpkin made exactly like mash potatoes is really nice and rich and has a nice sweetness.  Pumpkin made into a pie is just as good; in fact I have a few orders already lined up to Thanksgiving this year.  Then Pumpkin cooked as a thick curry and without coconut milk as it thickens itself is really so so nice. That is the base of my soup today actually.

Pumpkin is also used as a dessert in Thailand.  So its versatility is boundless.  You could make a cream of pumpkin soup with this recipe by just adding some cream to it later, but today I am going to have lumpy pumpkin soup because I really cannot be bothered taking out the food processor and all as I have a few cakes to make today and lots of preparations to organize for orders on Friday and Saturday as I have two classes on Saturday so I have to make sure the girls can organize the staff.

I am talking so much about the good of pumpkin and just a few years ago I would not even touch it because I hated it, it was punishment food to me…. I suppose when you’re younger your appreciation to food is different and anything that looks orange and in pieces is yucky.  But not anymore…. I can just eat pumpkin curry on its own, as long as it’s not too spicy.

Spicy Pumpkin Soup

Pumpkin                                   ¼ piece depending on size

Green Peas                               ¼ cup

Onion                                       1 to be blended

Garlic                                       2 – to be blended

Curry Powder                          ½ tsp or a little more

Salt and Pepper to taste

Water                                       1 cup or so

Method:

  1. Boil onions, garlic and pumpkin together till pumpkin is soft.  You may need more water, but don’t add too much.
  2. Add in curry powder and seasoning. Simmer on low flame till pumpkin is soft and pulpy.
  3. Lastly add in Green Peas.  Serve hot.

Easy isn’t it. And it will be tasty for sure.

Photos will follow later today

Leave a Reply

