Little Dim Sum Place – SS2 – Petaling Jaya

I was not really hungry on Sunday night, more peckish actually, I was not in the mood to eat a whole meal after eating so many meals throughout the week.  So when Brian Pereira came along, and started naming places with big foods, I was kind of uneasy.  I was even willing to go to the Food Court cum Glutton Square in SS2 but it was just too crowded and that would mean my hair and body would smell of a myriad different foods and people so we walked right through and checked out the restaurants around.  Actually Brian did mention Dim Sum but I was not sure, so we walked passed a few shops and made a point to check out some in the future, and so we came to Little Dim Sum Place.

Little Dim Sum Place has been around for a few years now because I have gone there from time to time over the last few years.  It’s quite a cosy little place, rather quaint with the same staff running it since the day they opened, and the nice thing is that they remember you even though I am not a regular.

So we entered and was presented a rather tattered menu.  Now I have to say, this is not a good thing. Why make menus so easily destroyed and then attempt to keep it for the longest time?  This is the came with Little Dim Sum Place’s menu.  Restaurants should make an attempt to keep their menus looking fresh or make new ones, not necessarily expensive ones and with the availability of good laser printers and various programs to make nice menus, this is something most restaurants should look into and not give their customers tattered menus.

We were ready to order and our waitress who has served us before started marking our menu for some reason. She just went tick tick tick… and then gave it to us announcing that all those ticked was not available.  Strange to start a meal with unavailability’s.

So anyhow Brian was hungry and he went on ticking away.  I picked a few things that were usually nice, and so we waited.  One thing about Little Dim Sum Place is that it is sparsely decorated and I like the bamboo steamers all glued together and is used as a divider between the dining area and the toilets.  Quite clever I must say.  Cheap and easily changed! Perhaps they should have thought about that with their menus.

We were first served our Sunshine Bun, now I thought it was strange because it should have been served last and the waitress should have asked us because we did not tick the box but we ticked the side of it to remind them to bring it last, but alas we forgot.  SO it came first.  Sunshine Bun has a watery salted egg yolk filling that is runny and if you do not eat it fast enough, it will harden, so you have to eat it while it is hot.  Of course as you know I have had it at other places, as well, and so our Sunshine Bun was not as nice.  I am not saying it was lousy but the filling tasted a trifle bit floury and the delicate taste of the yolk and sweetness of the sugar somehow was overpowered by the flouriness. We ate it though, Brian thought it was nice.  I guess if it was a little less floury then the flavor would have tickled my fancy a little bit more.

Then came our Choy Sum  with Oyster Sauce.  It  was cooked just nice and so there was a crunchiness to the vegetable, and the oyster sauce was not overpowering. It was quite delicate so to speak.  I needed a vegetable fix and so it was much needed.  For some reason I thought it was Kai Lan with Oyster that we ordered, will look at the menu again.

Har Gau (Prawn Dumpling) followed.  The prawn in the Har Gau was crunchy and not over marinated, and the skin was not too thick unlike some of the other places I have been to.  It was cooked just right so the delicateness of the flavor and the prawn juices was there. Mind you I ate my Har Gau without any sauce.

The King of Shiu Mai as it is called is suppose to be the best seller of the place and I know I have had it every time I come here and this time I thought it lacked any Kingly qualities because it was a little bit smaller then usual.  While the flavor was there but the size was about the same and maybe it was me, but I thought it kind of tasted much like the Har Gau but with some meat in it.  It was still pretty though, and if you are not  Dim Sum person like me then you may not be so picky.  I did think the prawn on it was a tad to tough for my liking.

Service was rather quick.  Tables were filling up we got our food, and the wait stuff was pretty effective.  They were on the ball so to speak unlike some places where the foreign wait staff stand and wait and never know your needs. I guess this comes with experience.

Bacon Rolls was next, I have not had this before so it was something new to try.  It was nice, sparsely garnished with shredded lettuce leaves, and with squiggles of mayonnaise over it.  I think the waitress should have cut it for us as it would have been easier to eat, but nevertheless, Brian and I enjoyed it.  It was a rasher of bacon wrapped with minced pork.  I have made the chicken version before for friends in Australia and they all like it. Bacon can be so versatile sometimes.

The Scallop Dumplings was a sight to behold, and while it was pretty and all, it did again taste similar to the rest. This should not be happening, but somehow it did.  It was like a cross between a Har Gau and  Shiu Mai with a Scallop.  We ate the whole lot of course, so I should not grumble much.  It was nice and moist though compared to the Shiu Mai. Brian burnt his mouth as it was steaming hot and he put it into his mouth.  I burnt myself with the bacon roll.

The Loh Mai Kai was nice and not particularly oily. It was neat as well and not all over the place like some shops.  The one piece of Lup Cheong, with the mushroom – whole I might add with the piece of chicken breast made the rice not so oily. I somehow wished there was salted egg yolk in it for some odd reason.  Maybe this is because I refrained from having Bak Zhang this year so the craving still exists.

The Scallop Treasure did look delicate and princesslike.  It is a piece of Radish dug out to resemble a delicate bowl and this was filled with minced pork and I believed a tiny bit of dried prawns. I just cannot put my finger to tell you what it was because there was too little of it. So two mouthfuls and it was gone and somehow remains a mystery. Brian was no help as well, he ate it and that was it.  The pieces of Scallop was of course the reason it had its name.  I thought the scallops were not the freshest, but I guess with the price we were paying, one cannot be too picky.  The soup was nice too, delicate and not oily.

Now after all this Brian was still hungry so we proceeded to order more stuff , so now we had Loh Pak Koh, fried carrot cake or turnip cake as some may know it as but the funny thing is there is neither carrot or turnip in it.  I love my Loh Pak Koh, but somehow today it was just not up par. Again it was too floury, the flavor was just not right, the leeks should have been cut a little bit smaller and they should have used Ipoh Nga Choy. Maybe it is a cost thing, but it would have done a world of good.  There was no Wok Hei as well. It was like a rush job to me.

The Crispy Shrimp on Tomato was quite photogenic to an extent, but I feel somehow when you place a prawn on something the size of a tomato, the prawn should be able to cover most of it. Sadly the prawn on this tomato was miniscule, and the fact that it was crispy made it even more miniscule. The prawn was placed on a bed of Meat Floss. This was a different kind of Dum Sum all together.  Taste wise it was nice, and tasty but still the prawn was too small, perhaps, use a smaller tomato in the future.  I ate the tomato up simply because I was in need of a vegetable fix that day.

The Eggplant Treasure Chest was interesting as I had not had this before.  However I felt it was a little bit too charred.  It did not have a burnt taste but it was black.  It was nice though.  One a piece of eggplant, minced pork and chopped up prawns I believe was placed on it. There may have been a scallop but for some reason I seem to forget. It was the dish of the night so to speak albeit the burnt look and all.  There could have been bits of fish as well if I remember well, but it as cleverly combined.  I do feel a proper sauce should be created to give this dim sum dish a little more kick!

The Lily Scallop Roll, is always featured as a favorite. You look at it in the photo and you’ll see how pretty it looks. Well looks can be deceiving. This time I thought the Lily Scallop was terrible. We both did!

It was burnt, and the last time if I remember well enough it was wrapped with spring roll skin but now they used Fu Pei which absorbed heaps of oil and was just burnt and totally ugly. Colorwise and if you looked at the filling it would be appetizing but the skin they used to fry it with made it look bad and limp.  Somehow the filling ingredients did not gel.  It had prawns, mushrooms, capsicum and I believe some scallops, but the flavors somehow was not there.  It was probably eye catching and the notion that people eat with theirs somehow did not work this time because of the appearance of the skin.

Perhaps they should have created a sauce to dip or to pour over it.  We did not finish it, because it just did not look nice.  A horrible way to end a meal I should add.

Two burnt Dim Sum is rather unbecoming of  restaurant that has been around for a while now.  The cooks should be reprimanded in some way. What was worst is, they actually served it and thought they could get away with it.  I would love to check the new place out when I come back from my holiday.

Little Dim Sum Place is moving by the way, to the Mont Kiara area. I had the card with me but I have simply cannot find it at the moment.  I do hope in that newer area where the more affluent are, things will change and get upgraded.  Little Dim Sum Place also has meals like Fried Rice and various types of noodles.  If only the waitress would not have taken the menu away like we were out to steal it, then I could have elaborated a little more. They do have dessert as well. Their Durian Pancake is rather nice although we did not have it.  I am not sure if that was one of the items ticked on the menu as None.

I cannot grumble about the price, because it was all of RM69.95, rather befitting to the standard, so we should not complaint. A little bit of improvements would be good though, and please why serve something burnt, when you can easily make it again.  Even if you came out and told us it will take longer because it burnt it would have been fine.

I do have one query….Why did they charge us 50 cents for the ice we had with our tea? Now that is rather rude!!!!!

One response to “Little Dim Sum Place – SS2 – Petaling Jaya

  1. Dim Sum must be one of the most expensive breakfast. Last Sunday had with the wifey and cost us RM32.00 for 7 plate dim sum. Can only have it once in a blue moon.

Leave a Reply

