Today’s Soup – Everything in the Fridge Soup

Today I felt like soup, having another of my moments so soup it was. And this time I wanted it done in the slow cooker which I bought last year I think, and only used it once. In fact for a while I could not find the cooker at all, as my wonderful maid Eda left the box somewhere else. So today I found it. I really did not know what I wanted so I checked the fridge and found a lots of odds and ends, thanks to Yustina’s method of storing. So here is what I found.

Barley Pearls 1/2 cup or a little more – to be soaked

Ginger 3 slices

Garlic 4 cloves

Onion 1 to be quartered

Carrot 1 small – to be sliced

Dried Chinese Mushrooms 6 or 7 to be soaked and stem removed

Celery 1 stick – sliced Chinese Cabbage a few leaves Water 2 or 3 cups Peanuts 2 tbsp

Salt and pepper to taste

Method:

1. Pour all the stuff above except the Chinese Cabbage into the crock pot.

2. Add water. I even added in some of the water I soaked the mushrooms in.

3. Boil on high.

4. I am still boiling it now it is 10 hours and still the peanuts are a little hard.

(after 6 hours of boiling)

5. So lets see how it will be 12 or 14 hours time.

6. Flavor to taste.

I am giving part of the soup away to a friend who has the cough for a few weeks now, hopefully it will help him.

Leave a Reply

