Macaroni Mania Continues… Today’s special – Vegetable Combo Macaroni

Today I wanted something different but I still had to have lemon grass in it for some reason. So today’s recipe once again has lemon grass three days in a row.  Vegetables was the essence of today’s dish.  I wanted heaps of mushy and also fresh looking vegetables and I did still have balance Basil Leaves since Yus my helper gave me a whole tree yesterday.

What I found from the flavors was something rather interesting. And as I am typing this, I have lips that feel like they have been botoxed!

You see, I wanted something a tiny bit spicy, and as most of you know I cannot have spicy food but still the Asianess of me does make cameos from time to time so today, Eda was food processing chilly and she always keeps the last bit and mixes it with water so we do not waste all the chilly that gets stuck in the bottom, so guess what I did.  So now I have an upper lip that could give Angelina Jolie a run for her money!

My ingredient list does look funny and I would like to see if anyone can guess what vegetable is on the left hand corner of the cutting board.  And yes… I even added some orange peel in today’s recipe.  I wanted something Thai, but did not what something Thai,  you know when you want something but don’t want it.  So no limes and calamansi, I decided on orange peel.

I added some black soy sauce, something I almost never do unless I am making black sauce chicken or noodles and that too I have had complains that it is not black enough. My friend Sarah Carol calls me a Racist Chef!  I just do not like my food black.

Today my brother ate too so hence the portion is much bigger.  So here is today’s recipes.

Macaroni                                  1  cup  – boiled till al dente

Vegetable List:

Bean Sprouts                            1 handful

Leeks                                       a small bunch – to be cut into 3 cm lengths.

Mystery Vegetable                   a few pieces – TELL ME WHAT IT IS

Basil Leaves                             ½ cup

Tomato                                    1 large – sliced

Lemon Grass                            2 stalks – to be sliced

Orange Rind                             1 tbsp

Olive Oil

Chilly Water                             to your liking

Garlic                                       2 or 3 minced

A pinch of sugar

Fish Sauce                                to taste

Thick Soy Sauce                      1 tsp or a bit more – don’t like blackened  food.

Method:

  1. Heat oil in a wok, add in garlic.
  2. Add in chilly water. Once it boils, add in Mystery Vegetable.
  3. Leave Mystery Vegetable to cook as it takes a while to soften. (Clue One)
  4. Once it is softened, add in orange rind and lemon grass. Season at this stage.
  5. Leave to simmer and then add in tomatoes. Add in a bit of Thick Soy Sauce.
  6. You can smash the tomatoes in the pan.  If there is no liquid, then add a little water. Add in leeks and Basil leaves.
  7. Add in Macaroni, and stir through. You may increase the heat at this time.  Season again if necessary.
  8. Add in bean sprouts, give it a toss or two and its done!

My brother reckons, I should have added some meat or prawns. Well you try it and see.

And to the person who can be the first to tell me what the mystery vegetable is, I will bake you a set of Chocolate Muffins and you can pick it up from my house.

Leave a Reply

