Poet’s Café – 167 Main St, Montville QLD 4560, Australia (07) 5478 5479

It was Good Friday, and all plans to abstain from eating meat flew right out the window once my cousin Kevin stopped at the servo and I came out with two meat pies.  We ate it and then remembered it was Good Friday, so after that, I just ate anything and everything that day.

Now we had been driving a long long way, through traffic, a first for me in the land of Oz, and well on this day I chartered new territory.  I went up to Moololaba, to pick up Suzy and baby Christian, and then we drove to Landsborough, which I had been to about 10 years ago. We drove a long way the hills and the scenic views were simply breathtaking.  Untouched, unspoilt, and vast.  I wonder if it will be like that in ten years time.

Anyhow we drove through a quaint little town called Montville, which had quaint little shops on each side, and since the place we wanted to go to did not serve food we went across the road for something Asian and it was closed because of Good Friday and so we went down the little street and Suzy suggested Poet’s Café.

And so there we were sitting outside the rather quaint Poet’s Café that was overlooking a thoroughly picturesque view of the farms, and spots of rives and lakes. We unfortunately sat in the front of the restaurant overlooking the road.  It was nice though to see a totally unhurried life in front of us.  We were seated and presented the menu.

It was a nice bright and easy to peruse menu with a lot of different foods styles.  The funny thing about this is that if something like this in Malaysia existed far out in a town up somewhere, we would never get foods like this unless it was hotel or some resort.  That is something I find quite baffling about Malaysia’s food trail. Whilst we have our own kinds of foods, but in this menu they had local favorites like fish and chips, through to burgers and steaks, and also Asian stuff like currys, simple Thai foods, and yet you saw people around ordering everything.  The menu had good pasta dishes and from busybodying myself looking around I saw large prawns or Scampi on the plates with the Pasta, and the price was not really expensive.

So Suzy ordered a burger with the works, Kevin ordered a Beer Battered Fish and Chips and I ordered a raisin scone with strawberry jam and cream.  I just felt like indulging the whole environment so it had to be scones.

For drinks we ordered an Ice Lemon Tea and Suzy ordered a divinely nice and rich and everything good Chocolate Milkshake.  I’ve not had a good chocolate milkshake for ages and taking a sip of her milkshake made me realize if I did, I’d be jiggling down the Mountains!

It’s strange that in most places in Australia, they have learnt to make rather simple everyday foods into something that is tasty, and posh looking. Kevin’s fish and chips came and while it looked ok, me  who hates fish tasted it and it was really good. I believe it was Cod, and I am not a fan of Cod fish but the beer batter really complemented the fish and was crispy for a long time and the fish was cooked to perfection, not fried right through and looking like a piece of fish cake. This fish would break in your hand and melt in your mouth. And the Tartare Sauce was nice and not overpowering at all.  It was not a huge portion but it was sufficient, enough to tease the palate and actually make you full because of its richness.

Just look at that.......sheer delight!

The Burger with the Works was really something else. I’ve not had a good good burger for a while now, I should say quite a few years.  So the sight of Suzy’s burger was something else. Devilishly laden with a good size burger, with a good amount of cheese and bacon, and to healthify things, you had rocket and arigula salad and a nice slice of beetroot, and tomatoes sandwiched in a Panini and served with chips.  There were bits of onions as well.

Of course I took a bite and it was a mouthful of joy.  It was a good flavorsome juicy burger, not salty and artificial tasting but good beef.  The flavors came from the accompaniments which was abundance of course.  All in all it was just perfect.

My scones came and it was perfect.  The raisins were not burnt, it was freshly made, not hard, not cakey, but with a perfect scone texture.  Now I have a damn good recipe for scones so I expected that.  One complaint, I reckon they should have served a cup of tea as part of the scone package.  Other then that everything was great, great ambiance, great company and great food. Simple and yet comforting.  That’s how food should be…Always!

I would love to see the whole place light up at night. I’m sure it would be something thoroughly surreal.  Make a beeline to Poet’s Cafe, it’s out of the way but worth the trip.

And finally, BABY OF THE YEAR!!!!!!

Introducing, another Aussie Rellie… Christian Jayden Sivam… well behaved, non cry baby, toughie, and I think he’s going to grow up liking food just like his mum and dad and second cousin and all the other food loving relatives around the world.

Leave a Reply

