My First Hand Bag Cake

I made this cake a while ago and changed the name of my Cake teacher Mrs Foenander and suddenly this went right to the top of the heap.  Bit strange I reckon.  So please don’t think I am regurgitating all the old stuff.

The last two days have been rather daunting.  I took an order that I was quite close to giving up because I had never done this sort of cake before.  And after a rather hectic and stressful week last week and the weekend as well I might add, I thought enough was enough, but since I took the order and it was for one of my best clients I could not day no.

So I made my first HANDBAG CAKE!!!!!

Constructing it was bad enough. I did look around  on the internet and it was all stuff that would take days to do and I had Monday to bake the cakes and Tuesday to ice it, so there was no mucking around and thinking of anything fancy mancy!

I had to make it high and so I had to make sure the cake was “strong” enough to take the other cakes weight. I could have used fruit cake, but that would be too expensive and not many people like fruit cake although Farah does like it I know.  So I piled on 3 layers of Nutty Carrot Cake and on top I put an Orange Butter Cake, so cake alone it was 5 kilos already.

I sandwiched it with cream cheese frosting and then covered it with butter icing, and then proceeded to cover it with fondant. And last night, I swear the cake looked like a something from Hansel and Gretel gone wrong.  It was hideous.  I gave up at 10.30 pm and went to bed.  I did have things in mind and I actually did an Emmanuel Stroobant and drew everything on a piece of paper, step by step, because this is almost like constructing the real thing.

This morning, I started again, with paper in hand and adding bits and pieces and three hours later. This is my cake.  It does need a little bit of changes but for my first time, I think I can do it better next time.

I chose not to use any designer names or logos because to me without making a big thing about it, it is an infringement of a brand, so I will not do such things as I am very against things like this. So this is  Nicholas Pillai Design.

You know sometimes I believe my cake teacher whose been gone for more then 19 years now Mrs Enid Kathleen Foenander watches over me.  Even when I was young and quite hopeless she always gave me extra and taught me more then she did with the other ladies, I never knew why she’d take the pains to do so for this big fat kid who asked a lot of questions.  So this goes out to Mrs Foenander! It’s not the best, but it will get better…..

Leave a Reply

