An Evening at Kuala Selangor – JT Seafood or Jetty Seafood

I am rather geographically challenged. I do not know why I suddenly decided to go to Kuala Selangor but in my mind Selangor was where I lived so it cannot be that far and wide…. Well I was wrong.. so so wrong!

After a long two hour drive, I think it was about that and even stopping to make sure Colin did not get lost seeing that he was with Maria and Michelle and of course my dad, we finally reached this idyllic locale, which I still had no clue off even though I was standing there and stretching my legs after that horribly long drive. I really thought it was about 30 minutes away max!

Well we reached and we parked right in front of these wooden shops which actually made it look like it was some part of Ipoh. Mind you the Ipoh that I remember is quite old, but here we were at Kuala Selangor, my first trip, fatigue, crumpled up and I was going to eat SEAFOOD!!!! Now how do I get myself into predicaments like this when knowing full well I hate long drives, I hate sitting at the back with not much ventilation, I hate Seafood, and there I was in the land known for its oh so wonderfully fresh seafood and I was the one who decided to go there.

We were greeted by the sight of wonderful local delights which I was always

Hong Peang – Fresh from the Oven…

under the impression that only Penang had these things. But this was wafting hot out of the oven. I had never had Hong Peang hot hot in my life always a few days old from a plastic bag. It was wonderful. Next time you have some stick them in your toaster oven it makes such a lot of difference.

The flaky pastry together with the sticky gooey filling was comfort food at its best. Now I shall never touch a cold one unless I have an oven available.

Then I did the touristy thing and walked around looking at all the dried sea produce, stuff like this would cost a bomb where I am but here it was fresh, and like A grade compared to what we got here and mind you this was still Selangor.

They even had Palm Sugar, the good one for Onde Onde. So I bought a few to pass to Dan who was then in an Onde Onde making mood. He never got it though, cos I used it in one of my classes.

Then we walked into the restaurant. Now I have been to one other seafood restaurant in Klang way back in 2004 a day after the Tsunami and even then I had this eerie feeling everything was going to come crashing down when the waves hit us. And there were waves too that night in Kuala Selangor and every time the bigger boats passed by there was a tiny movement, possibly only I felt.

 

So we ordered. Now not being a seafood person I was a little perplexed so I ordered Tofu and while walking to the table we noticed the all quintessential PETAI! So Petai was ordered.
The first dish that came was the last dish we ordered which was the Petai. Never had us mainland people seen so much Petai on a plate served in restaurant before. We looked at it with glee. Mum said it was from around here and so it was fresh and crunchy. I personally think it was just thrown in a really hot wok and tossed in a ready sambal. It has a nice wok hei lingering after taste actually since I ate it without rice.

Then the Spinach with Anchovies came. It was nice, simple, just the right amount of stock and not salty. In other words it was good and Baby Michelle and I just loved it.  I liked the broth, obviously made of seafood but not strong and overwhelming.

The crabs were next, now I was kind of disappointed. No one told  you that you had to order mud crabs, I took it for granted you order crabs you get the good stuff.. We had flower crabs. The Salted Egg Yolk one which I like because I can scrape the shell and eat the curry leaves. I love fried curry leaves especially with that hint of salted egg yolk around it. According to the rest the crab was nice and of course fresh. Saw the poor buggers swimming a few minutes earlier. I had a taste and yes it was not too crabby even for the likes of me.  I did lick the shells, I like licking shells.

Next was Oyster Omelet which was literally Oyster Omelet. I expected Or Chien, but this was just egg much like a korean pancake. It was nice, I guess the shock was still setting in because us mainland people do get bigger oysters when we eat around PJ and KL.  It was not a personal favorite.  We were going to choose the other one but we thought it was different.  It was floury but pleasant.  Not too Oyster flavored because the oysters were fresh

Mantis Prawn was next on the list. Ok hassle free seafood lay right across me, just pick up with chop stick and eat away. The hint of Marmite was just nice. This was a favorite.  Somehow mantis prawns to me have to be eaten without the skin.  They are dangerous fellas when they are in the sea as they can attack you if they are big enough.  So this is how I like my seafood. Note it does not even look like seafood.  On the whole rather enjoyable.

Then we ordered tofu for the non seafood eating people. Seafood Tofu it seems. I loved it, it was home made and had enough seafood tofu ratio unlike what we get here at times. I think they could have cut it smaller so it would be more bite size, but that’s me, I like my foods small. It was served with a rather insipid sauce though.

Not my favorite came next, grilled sting ray. Everyone was excited to see it, I took a taste and the fish flavor overwhelmed me. Everyone reckoned it was perfect, I guess from the way everyone else ate, it must have been good. Even the gravy tasted fishy. Not my cup of tea, but I am sure I would have eaten it if it was Salmon or Tuna. To me the flavor did not complement the fish and it was somehow not combined well at all. Maybe the fish was so fresh it did not need a marinade to rid of the fishy flavor. I am bad at this, so don’t take my word on its awfulness I am sure to others it would be just fine.

So finally we finished and realized we were not that satisfied so we ordered Or Chien which as you can see was a typical Oyster Omelet or like a Telur Dadar. I have to say this made my evening. I liked it heaps, could have had one more helping actually. This time the oysters were biggish and fresh.  It was a bit different from what we get around PJ, at least the places I have been.

The night ended and somehow it was a lot quicker then the trip to Kuala Selangor….. NOW WE HAD TO DRIVE BACK!!!!

Never again will I suggest such foodie escapades unless we are staying the night somewhere.

Do try this place though, my blog here is biased simply because I don’t know what they hell I was doing and deciding to have a seafood meal…. (Still shaking my head)

Now the trip back was even longer…. My brother took a wrong turn just as we reached the Sungai Buloh exit. So near yet so far!

Before I end.. My favorite Salted Fish!!!

Leave a Reply

