Dutch Pancakes

It was a chance whatsapping with Fong Mei Leng about our Jelly Pursuits, and then she suddenly says she’s off to make her Dutch Pancakes.  Now I have vaguely heard of this but never ever made it in my life.  I don’t think I have eaten it as well.

So while whatsapping I googled it and came across a few recipes but the one that fitted my Samsung Screen properly was Martha Stewart’s Dutch Pancake Recipe.

You cannot imagine how quickly you can make this pancake. The longest part of this recipe it preheating the oven.

IMG-20151116-WA0015

So here goes….

Butter                                                2 tbsp + 1 tbsp – I used salted as always

Plain Flour                                      1/2 cup – loosely the way I do it, unlike Martha’s                                                                       who said to compact it.

Milk                                                   3/4 cup

Eggs                                                   3 large

Vanilla Essence                              1 tsp

Salt                                                      1/2 tsp

Sugar                                                  1 tbsp although Martha’s said 1/4 cup. I didn’t have                                                                castor sugar so I used normal sugar

Lemon Slice

Method:

  1. Preheat your oven to 180 or 200 C
  2. IMG-20151116-WA0014Place your Ovenproof Skillet or whatever you call this.  I bought this in India for something Indian and ended up making Dutch Pancakes
  3. Place all the ingredients except the Lemon Slice into the blender and whizz it for about a minute.
  4. In the meantime take the tray and skillet out of the oven and brush with butter.  Place it back in the oven again.
  5. Then in about two minutes, pour the batter into the mould.  Just till it slightly to the top.
  6. Pour out the rest onto the hot skillet.
  7. Bake for about 15 minutes and check.
  8. The ones in the mould should be lose enough.  one or two might erupt because of the heat and steaming process.
  9. Remove from oven. If the skillet is at the bottom shelf, place it on top now.
  10. Remove the Dutch Pancake Balls, and eat it like that or dust a little icing sugar on it and squeeze a little lemon juice.  Since I did not use much sugar, I had it with a bit of butter and I dusted some icing sugar so it would look a tad bit more photogenic.IMG-20151116-WA0017
  11. The Skillet one, once out of the oven made me realise we can do many things with it to make a complete meal.  By adding topping and for me CHEESE… it would be totally different.  This can be a wonderful breakfast carb as well.  IMG-20151116-WA0019

Fong Mei Leng’s Dutch Pancake were much more prettier then mine…  Looks more Spunky Dory don’t you think?

IMG-20151116-WA0021

She used a spunky dory machine as well and hers looked like this.IMG-20151116-WA0022

Gorgeous I might say!

Thank you Fong Mei Leng for mentioning Dutch Pancakes today.  I might have it tomorrow as well.

Leave a Reply

