Tai Tong BBQ Restaurant – Lot J 56 G, KK Time Square, Kota Kinabalu

I chanced upon this restaurant while I was doing my morning walk. It was 6.45 am and I saw these ladies arranging the tables and chairs outside the restaurant.  I took a peek and saw it opened at 7 am and what caught my eye was the Kolo Mee something which I have heard off many times but never eaten before.

So much for walking and all, I rushed back showered, and came back to Tai Tong for my first Chinese Brekkie.  As I walked in, about 30 minutes later, the restaurant was only half full and this was 7.20 am.  I walked to the counter to choose my meal and for some reason people looked up and the lady who was arranging the table came running up to me to say they serve pork. So me being me, said it’s fine, I don’t mind.

So I picked my Kolo Mee.  The taste was much like Kon Lo Mee, but perhaps this was a bit drier.  Now for the life of me, I cannot seem to find the photo.  Which is odd because I knew I took a few photos of my meal.  Anyhow, it was good, rather comforting and I knew I’d be back.  in fact I was back in the evening and they were closed.  Then I went back Sunday morning and finally saw the opening times which was 7 am to 4 pm Mondays to Saturdays.

20160409_093546So Monday, I went back. This time I had jook, and it was fish jook, because it looked nice in the photo and they used fresh fish because I didn’t want a smelly fishy jook, which the lady assured me.  And so the fish Jook came.  The aroma was was a nice scent of sesame oil and scallions and a hint of fish.  First mouthful, was wonderful. In fact while I am typing this, I am salivating.  The rice was barely visible so it was cooked properly and they did not use broken rice.  It was good.  I love Jook… I can have bowls and bowls.

20160414_130206Portions and just nice as well, and for me I found it rather filling and the price was always around RM8.50 with a drink of Milk Tea of Coffee.  And today being Monday, the restaurant was full at 8 am.

20160411_133752I went back for Lunch that day with a friend.  She had Won Ton Noodles with Char Siu and Siew Yok  plus a plate of Siew Yoke Fan while  I had fried Won Tons.  and I picked at her food.  Lunch time was crowded.  Meats were very nice and not skinny sliced pieces.and the rice was cooked with good quality rice unlike what we get here in PJ sometimes.  I also found the portions much bigger for lunch. A bit too big for me. 20160411_13380620160411_134139

Won Tons were freshly made.  It had a nice bite and enough good filling and not fillers like many others.  I do wish they’d give more veggies though. Seems like I am the only one wishing for more.

Then my next visit for breakfast, by now the ladies were quite friendly and they recommended me to try their fish noodle soup.  I did ask a lot of questions about it before saying yes and she assured me I’d like it. and so when it came, ohhhh my God… it was just fantastic.  The Hum Choy was cooked till it was soft and the flavors were infused very well in the slightly milky sauce.  And the fish just gave that added flavor.  I was hooked.  In fact I had it almost every single time I went there and I went there quite a bit.  I ordered it for lunch and found the portion a little too big for me. I even asked if I could have the breakfast size and pay lunch time rate but she said no.  Still I finished the whole bowl at lunch as well.  This had to be the best thing to happen.

20160414_130703

I did try to be smart and changed the Mee Hoon to Koay Teow but somehow the flavor wasn’t absorbed as well. Mee Hoon rules.

Friend had Char Siew Fan.  Meat was a plenty, and they gave a nice tasty soup as well – with a bit more vegetables.

20160414_130153

All in all I was never ever disappointed in this place.  For some odd reason, quite a few photos are missing. Hmmmm…..

I will look for them and load it later.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

